Home Again

JMillerVWallaceEngaged1912
Yay, home looks wonderful even though there was a slight frost here while I was gone, so the poor zucchini look pathetic. Then it rained last night and has been heavy cloud cover all day and not hot.
I think if I ever decide to take in another family reunion, I’m going to play little old lady needing help and ask for a wheel chair at the airports. I think they are trying to make sure everyone gets enough exercise by putting arrival and departure gates at the opposite ends of the huge terminals on purpose. The weather was hot and muggy and I thought I was going to melt into the tarmac as we were allowed to walk from the plane to the terminals in both Portland and Seattle. I swear I hiked miles, dragging along my carry-ons as there isn’t a weight limit on those so they almost equaled my body weight or felt like it by the time my daughter picked me up in Fairbanks.
The flights were very rough with turbulence bad enough that the stewardesses remained fastened in their seats the entire flight. It’s probably a good thing I’m not prone to motion sickness. We dropped and slid sideways once as we were landing in Seattle and I am really happy we still had enough elevation to handle that without going splat.
It’s good to be home.

2 thoughts on “Home Again

  1. Who is in the picture, Rosalyn?

    “Family reunion” reminded me of a joke. Ever heard this one?

    The family wheeled Grandma out on the lawn, in her wheelchair, where the activities for her 100th birthday were taking place. Grandma couldn’t speak very well, but she could write notes when she needed to communicate.
    After a short time out on the lawn, Grandma started leaning off to the right, so some family members grabbed her, straightened her up, and stuffed pillows on her right.
    A short time later, she started leaning off to her left, so again the family grabbed her and stuffed pillows on her left.
    Soon she started leaning forward, so the family members again grabbed her, then tied a pillowcase around her waist to hold her up.
    A nephew who arrived late came up to Grandma and said, “Hi, Grandma, you’re looking good! How are they treating you?”
    Grandma took out her little notepad and slowly wrote a note to the nephew… “They won’t let me fart.”

    Feel free to delete this comment if you don’t want flatulence humor spoiling your blog. 🙂

    – Jeff

Leave a Reply

